The Parish Church of St John the Evangelist, the only place of worship in the neighbourhood, is in a quiet residential area, a short walk from Meads village centre. The original church, built in 1867, was severely damaged in 1942 by fire-bombs, only the tower remaining intact. Services were held in the Parish Hall in Meads Street until the present church building was dedicated in April 1957.
There is a stunning array of ceiling plaques depicting scenes from the Bible, including the Old Testament, the Nativity and the Life of Jesus. These run across the entire ceiling of the nave above the pews.
We celebrated our Golden Jubilee in 2007, when we redecorated the church and created space for some flexible seating, and a small kitchenette was later installed in the welcome area, so that coffee and tea can easily be served after church services.
But the growing church needed more space, so the new Jubilee Hall (with a large kitchen and additional toilet facilities) was built, and modifications made to the pre-existing Pauling Room, the cost being fully covered by gifts from church members. These new facilities were completed and opened in 2012.
There is step-free access and toilet facilities for disabled users, and the church itself has a hearing-loop.